The New Plains Review seeks quality creative works ranging from poetry and prose to plays/screenplays and music and short films.

We are interested in creative works that are thoughtful and compelling, but otherwise we do not have any specific guidelines for style or subject matter. 

We do accept simultaneous submissions. We do not accept previously published work. Your submission gives us permission to publish your work in print and online. At this time, we do not pay upon publication. 

Submit your creative works by September 11th for the FA18 Issue. Allow 6-8 weeks for a response.  

Ends on July 5, 2017$15.00
$15.00

We are currently accepting submissions for our inaugural Chapbook Contest. Submissions will be read blind. Before you submit, please remove your name and any other identifying information from your manuscript. The chapbooks can be no longer than twenty-five pages. Any submissions longer than twenty-five pages will be automatically disqualified. The winner will receive a $1,000 cash prize, publication by New Plains Review Publishing Group, and five personal copies for the author. Upon publication, the author retains all rights to their poetry, but will not be financially compensated for any copies purchased after publication. The winner will be announced in August 2017. The deadline is 5th. There is a reading fee of $15 for this contest. The judges for this contest will be Dr. Iliana Rocha, Dr. Matt Hollrah, and Lisa Lewis.

We are looking for audio and/or video files of spoken word poetry. 

We are also looking for short films no longer than 10 minutes.

There is no specific requirement for content, although material that focuses on thoughtful and provocative content takes precedence.

Ends on September 15, 2017$3.00
$3.00

We are interested in one-act plays and screenplays that are no more than twelve pages.

We do not have any specific guidelines for style or subject matter; however, we are thoughtful and compelling material.

We do accept simultaneous submissions. We do not accept previously published work. Your submission gives us permission to publish your work online. 

Please do not include any contact or biographical information within the document.

Ends on September 15, 2017$3.00
$3.00

We are interested in poetry that is thoughtful and compelling, but otherwise we do not have any specific guidelines for style or subject matter.

We do accept simultaneous submissions. We do not accept previously published work. Your submission gives us permission to publish your work online. 

We accept no more than three poems at a time.

Please do not include any contact or biographical information within the document.

Ends on September 15, 2017$3.00
$3.00

We are interested in fiction, flash fiction, and nonfiction that is thoughtful and compelling, but otherwise we do not have any specific guidelines for style or subject matter.

We do accept simultaneous submissions. We do not accept previously published work. Your submission gives us permission to publish your work online. 

Please limit submissions to 5500 words.

Please do not include any contact or biographical information within the document.

Ends on September 15, 2017

New Plains Review is calling for visual art submissions for the upcoming Spring 2017 issue. This can include individual artwork, complete works, an excerpt from a larger body of work, or graphic novel. Please allow 6-8 weeks for response.

Submission Guidelines

  • Submissions can be a self-contained work or an expert from a larger work.
  • We do accept simultaneous submissions.
  • We do not accept previously published work.
  • Your submission gives us permission to publish your work online. 
  • Your image may be adjusted for print size.
  • No pornographic content.
  • We accept color images, but they will be printed in black and white.

Image File Specifications

  • 300 dpi/ppi (pixels/dots per inch) resolution is preferred 
  • 1800-pixel minimum (width or height)
  • JPG, TIF, and PSD formats are preferred

Image Description

Include the following information:

  • Title of work
  • description of work / media type
  • dimension
  • year of production
Example:
  1. Title, Oil on canvas, 11 x 17 inches, 2016
  2. Title, Pen and Ink on Paper, 10 x 10 inches, 2016
  3. Title, Digital, 8 x 10 inches, 2016
Ends on September 15, 2017

New Plains Review is calling for visual art submissions for the upcoming Fall 2016 issue. This can include individual artwork, complete works, an excerpt from a larger body of work, or graphic novel. Please allow 6-8 weeks for response.

Submission Guidelines

  • Submissions can be a self-contained work or an expert from a larger work.
  • We do accept simultaneous submissions.
  • We do not accept previously published work.
  • Your submission gives us permission to publish your work online. 
  • Your image may be adjusted for print size.
  • No pornographic content.
  • We accept color images, but they will be printed in black and white.

Image File Specifications

  • 300 dpi/ppi (pixels/dots per inch) resolution is preferred 
  • 1800-pixel minimum (width or height)
  • JPG, TIF, and PSD formats are preferred

Image Description

Include the following information:

  • Title of work
  • description of work / media type
  • dimension
  • year of production
Example:
  1. Title, Oil on canvas, 11 x 17 inches, 2016
  2. Title, Pen and Ink on Paper, 10 x 10 inches, 2016
  3. Title, Digital, 8 x 10 inches, 2016