The New Plains Review seeks quality creative works ranging from poetry and prose to plays/screenplays and music and short films.

We are interested in creative works that are thoughtful and compelling, but otherwise we do not have any specific guidelines for style or subject matter.

Audio and video submission will only be considered for online exclusive publication only. We do accept simultaneous submissions. We do not accept previously published work. Your submission gives us permission to publish your work in print and online. At this time, we do not pay upon publication. 

Submit your creative works by September 11th for the FA18 Issue. Allow 6-8 weeks for a response. 

Ends on February 1, 2019$3.00
$3.00

We are interested in poetry that is thoughtful and compelling, but otherwise we do not have any specific guidelines for style or subject matter. Submissions are being accepted up to February 1st for the Spr19 issue. Allow for 6-8 weeks for a response.

We do accept simultaneous submissions. We do not accept previously published work. Your submission gives us permission to publish your work online. 

We accept no more than three poems at a time.

Please do not include any contact or biographical information within the document. 

We are interested in fiction, flash fiction, and nonfiction that is thoughtful and compelling, but otherwise we do not have any specific guidelines for style or subject matter. Submissions are being accepted up to February 1st for the Spr19 issue. Allow 6-8 weeks for a response.
We do accept simultaneous submissions. We do not accept previously published work. Your submission gives us permission to publish your work online.
Please limit submissions to 5500 words.
Please do not include any contact or biographical information within the document.
 

Ends on February 1, 2019$3.00
$3.00

We are interested in one-act plays and screenplays that are no more than twelve pages. Submissions are being accepted up to February 1st for the Spr19 issue. Allow for 6-8 weeks for a response.
We do not have any specific guidelines for style or subject matter; however, we are thoughtful and compelling material.
We do accept simultaneous submissions. We do not accept previously published work. Your submission gives us permission to publish your work online.
Please do not include any contact or biographical information within the document.
 

Ends on February 1, 2019

New Plains Review is calling for visual art submissions for the upcoming issue. This can include individual artwork, complete works, an excerpt from a larger body of work, or graphic novel. Please allow 6-8 weeks for response. Submissions are being accepted up to February 1st for the Spr19 issue. Allow for 6-8 weeks for a response.


Submission Guidelines
 

  • Submissions can be a self-contained work or an expert from a larger work.
  • We do accept simultaneous submissions.
  • We do not accept previously published work.
  • Your submission gives us permission to publish your work online. 
  • Your image may be adjusted for print size.
  • No pornographic content.
  • We accept color images, but they will be printed in black and white.

 

Image File Specifications
 

  • 300 dpi/ppi (pixels/dots per inch) resolution is preferred 
  • 1800-pixel minimum (width or height)
  • JPG, TIF, and PSD formats are preferred

 

Image Description
Include the following information:
 

  • Title of work
  • description of work / media type
  • dimension
  • year of production
     

 Example:
 

  1. Title, Oil on canvas, 11 x 17 inches, 2016
  2. Title, Pen and Ink on Paper, 10 x 10 inches, 2016
  3. Title, Digital, 8 x 10 inches, 2016


Ends on February 1, 2019

New Plains Review is calling for visual art submissions for the upcoming Spr19 issue. This can include individual artwork, complete works, an excerpt from a larger body of work, or graphic novel. Submissions are being accepted up to February 1st. Allow 6-8 weeks for response.
Submission Guidelines
 

  • Submissions can be a self-contained work or an expert from a larger work.
  • We do accept simultaneous submissions.
  • We do not accept previously published work.
  • Your submission gives us permission to publish your work online. 
  • Your image may be adjusted for print size.
  • No pornographic content.
  • We accept color images, but they will be printed in black and white.

 Image File Specifications
 

  • 300 dpi/ppi (pixels/dots per inch) resolution is preferred 
  • 1800-pixel minimum (width or height)
  • JPG, TIF, and PSD formats are preferred

 Image Description
Include the following information:
 

  • Title of work
  • description of work / media type
  • dimension
  • year of production

 Example:
 

  1. Title, Oil on canvas, 11 x 17 inches, 2016
  2. Title, Pen and Ink on Paper, 10 x 10 inches, 2016
  3. Title, Digital, 8 x 10 inches, 2016


Ends on February 1, 2019

We are looking for audio and/or video files of spoken word poetry to be used only as online exclusives. Submissions are now being accepted. Allow for 6-8 weeks for a response.
We are also looking for short films no longer than 10 minutes.
There is no specific requirement for content, although material that focuses on thoughtful and provocative content takes precedence.

New Plains Review